Peanut Butter Cookies Make Everything Better

I know that for most people chocolate makes the world go round. And I would agree with them to a certain extent. But when it comes to solving the problems in my world – peanut butter cookies seem to be the cure for what ails me. Unfortunately, most people don’t care for peanut butter cookies. SO it’s not often that I get to have them. Recently, I discovered that my brother’s girlfriend, Krystal, shares in my sentiments for PB cookies. So on my weekly trips to my parents’ house, I have been baking up a storm! They’re so easy to whip up, that I just throw together a small batch and pop them in the oven. Nothing smells better that fresh baked peanut butter cookies.

I have always loved peanut butter. It is one of the few staples that I always keep in my cabinet in bulk. But it has to be Skippy Creamy Peanut Butter. I am a peanut butter snob. I have always been able to taste the subtle differences between different things – Skippy vs. Jiff, Coke vs. Pepsi, Tabasco vs. Cholula, etc. While most people would say that it is all the same, I’ll be the first to tell you that there is. It’s just that most people don’t realize it. So Skippy peanut butter is my secret ingredient.

I firmly believe that baking is always better with a HELPER.  My favorite helpers are usually 4 feet tall or shorter.  They seem to have the most fun while baking.  Today little miss Shelby was my baking buddy.  She loves to help out in the kitchen.  Especially since her Nana in Texas taught her how to make them.  So we pulled up a chair so she could reach all of our special ingredients.  And together, we whipped up a batch of my favorite Peanut Butter Cookies for her mama.  And we had a blast making a mess in the kitchen!  The end result – some fabulous soft homemade peanut butter goodness.  So here is the recipe for all of you to share with your special little someones.  Happy Baking!

Mama Kerrie’s Peanut Butter Cookies

  • 1 cup Skippy Peanut Butter
  • 1 cup Butter, softened
  • 1 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 2 lg. Eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups Flour
  • Extra Sugar for dusting

-Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

-In a large mixing bowl, cream peanut butter and butter with electric mixer. The add brown sugar and sugar and mix until well combined, scraping the sides of the bowl occasionally.

-Beat in eggs and vanilla until combined.

-In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and baking soda. Then add flour to your butter mixture a little at a time. Beat in as much flour with the mixer as possible. Stir in the remaining flour with a spatula.

-Shape dough into 1 inch balls and set them on an ungreased baking sheet about 2 inches apart.

-Flatten dough with the tines of a fork making a crisscross pattern across the top. Then dust them with sugar. The more the better!

        

-Bake cookies in preheated oven for 8-9 minutes.

-Let cookies cool for 10 minutes on the pan. Then transfer them to a wire rack to cool completely.

ENJOY!

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookies Make Everything Better

  1. Oh! You’re making me jealous! I used to *LOVE* peanut butter cookies! But now a family member is allergic to peanuts, so I can’t have any in the house. Boo hoo! Actually, just last night I was daydreaming of trying to make peanut butter cookies using Sunbutter as a substitute (it’s a butter made from sunflower seeds). Even so, it just won’t be the same. Enjoy a few extra for me, okay? 🙂

    • I’m so sorry to hear about your dilemma. I don’t know what I’d do if I couldn’t have peanut butter. The things we give up for our family. It might be worth trying to make them with the sunflower butter. I’ve tried it before and it wasn’t bad. Maybe I’ll try making my cookie recipe with that substitution and let you know how it turns out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

