Buttery Snowball Cookies

I have said it before and I’ll say it again, “cookies are the greatest gift.” They are easy to throw together and so much fun to make. And who could resist sneaking a taste of the cookie dough. When I was a kid, our biggest reward for baking with my mom was getting to lick the beaters from the mixer when she was finished. We loved it! I still do, as a matter of fact.

Last Thursday was my Sister-in-law’s birthday. I haven’t had the opportunity to see her, so I decided to bake her some cookies to say Happy Birthday. I find that sweet treats always dawn a smile. Now one thing you should know about my Sister-in-law, is that she is one of the best bakers I know. So there are a lot of cookies that she has the greatest recipes for. Of course I wouldn’t dare trying to give her any of those. Instead I have decided to try a new recipe for her. I have made these Snowball cookies several times, but I have only kept them at home for George and I to try. We love them, so I think it’s time to share them with my family and all of you as well. It’s a great recipe, because it only requires six ingredients. My favorite kind of recipes!

Today I am doing my baking at home, because I have to work later. So I am limited on space. I must confess that I prefer to cook at my parents’ house, because the kitchen is so much bigger. Baking is always best with a partner. Today Aaliyah was my baking buddy. Or at least, she stole all my utensils and played with them on the floor of my kitchen.

Here is my recipe for my Buttery Snowball Cookies. I hope that you like them. Happy Baking!

Buttery Snowball Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup Powdered Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup Pecans, crushed
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 1/3 cup Powdered Sugar, sifted – for coating cookies

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large mixing bowl, beat butter and 1/2 cup of the confectioners’ sugar until smooth and creamy. Add in vanilla extract and mix until combined.

Add in the flour, pecans and salt. Mixing until just combined.

Roll about 1 tablespoon of dough into balls and place on prepared baking sheet. The cookies can be placed quite close together since they do not spread during the baking process.

Bake cookies for about 15 minutes. Allow cookies to cool on baking pan until you are able to comfortably hold them in your hands.

Sift 1/3 cup confectioners’ sugar into a medium bowl. While cookies are still warm, roll them in confectioners’ sugar. Place cookies on cooling rack,

          

Once they have cooled completely, roll them in confectioners’ sugar again.

And you are finished!  I recommend refrigerating them after you store them.  But it isn’t necessary.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

