Blueberry Muffins for Easter Brunch

With Easter only a week away, things are beginning to get a little hectic. It’s time to start gearing up for our Easter Celebration. I’m really excited for Aaliyah’s first Easter and Shelby’s first one in California. Actually, we all are. Normally this would be a piece of cake, but unfortunately, my grandmother was admitted to the hospital on Saturday night and my mother has been staying with her. So I have been a little distracted and without help. On the bright side, Grandma is doing better and should hopefully be coming home the day after tomorrow. Which is all the more reason to make this celebration extra special. I truly believe we must make every moment count.

With my limited timetable, I’m forced to do some of my preparations ahead of time. So today I am baking my Blueberry Muffins for our champagne brunch on Sunday. For some reason(and I don’t know when this started), I equate blueberry muffins with holidays. It’s weird, but that’s just how it is. But since I’m already baking them, I thought I would share the recipe with you. They are super easy to make and very delicious. This recipe makes 10-12 muffins. So I typically double and sometimes triple the recipe.

Happy Baking!

Blueberry Muffin Recipe

Ingredients:
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 beaten eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup melted butter (no substitutes)
  • 1 tablespoon finely shredded orange peel
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries, thawed
  • Coarse sugar (optional)
Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease twelve 2-1/2-inch muffin pan cups. Set aside
Stir together flour, the 3/4 cup sugar, baking powder and salt in a medium mixing bowl. Make a well in the center of dry mixture; set aside.

In a small bowl, combine eggs, milk, and butter.

Add all at once to the dry mixture. Stir just until moistened.  Your batter should be lumpy.  Next fold in your blueberries.

4. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling each almost full.  Sprinkle tops with coarse sugar.

Bake in preheated oven 20 minutes or until golden. Cool in muffin cups on wire rack 5 minutes.

        

Remove from muffin cups. Makes 12.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

