Snickerdoodle Cookies

Last week I shared my love of peanut butter cookies with all of you. I really do believe that they make everything better. I love making them. And I love eating them even more. But I believe that a mom cannot specialize in only one cookie. She must be able to make several different kinds of cookies well. It is a vital skill for the development of their children.

I can honestly tell you that I have a few really good cookie recipes. But I really would like to expand and develop some more. And not just the typical ones like chocolate chip and oatmeal raisin. I would like to expand my talents much further. So as I develop my family cookbook along with my mommy identity, I will share my cookie recipes with all of you. And today will be my first trial. Snickerdoodle cookies are one of my favorites. I’m sorry to say that I have never tried to make them. This is a first. I found the recipe in my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook. Let’s see if it’s a good one.

Snickerdoodle Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

In a medium mixing bowl beat butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds.

Add the 1 cup sugar, baking soda, and cream of tartar. Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally. Beat in egg and vanilla. Beat in as much of the flour as you can with the mixer. Using a wooden spoon, stir in any remaining flour.

Cover and chill in the refrigerator for 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  In a small mixing bowl combine the 2 tablespoons sugar and the cinnamon.

Shape dough into 1-inch balls.

Roll balls in the sugar-cinnamon mixture to coat.

Place 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake in for 10 to 11 minutes or until edges are golden brown.

Transfer cookies to a wire rack; cool. Makes about 30 cookies.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

