A Box is not a Box….

It’s funny how some of the simplest things can be so much fun. I feel like as I have become an adult, I have lost sight of this fact. Children amaze me sometimes, because they are able to take pleasure in the simple pleasures. My baby girl can play for hours with a rubber spatula or a half empty water bottle. Her eyes just light up as she swings them around and bashes them into the floor. I can tell that she is having a ball by the pitch of her squeal and the scrunch of her nose. And I absolutely love it! They are some of my favorite moments with my Baby Girl.

When I was younger, I used to see things the same way. I could see all the possibilities that the world could hold. Becoming a mother has reminded me of that. It reminded me of all the fun my little brother and I used to have playing in old appliance boxes. My parents had bought a new refrigerator when I was four years old. My brother and I played in the box it came in for months. We turned it into a fort on out back patio and would play in it for hours. My mom still has pictures somewhere.

It was that memory that inspired our backyard adventures at grandma and grandpa’s house last week. My grandpa had gotten a new chair for the den last month and they saved the box in case he didn’t like it. My mother was about to toss the gigantic box out, when I had the idea to try letting Aaliyah play with it. I had no idea if she would like it, but it was worth a shot.

It was perfect! Aaliyah thought it was the coolest thing. She played in it for three hours. And believe me, nothing has ever held her attention that long before. She crawled in and out of it and played with the flaps. I couldn’t help but laugh. She loved it. I sat taking pictures and videos like a proud mom, while my mom and grandparents looked on. It made for an enjoyable afternoon. I recommend that you try it.

Cardboard boxes have a lot of potential. Especially the really large ones for refrigerators, stoves, and washing machines. I recommend trying a day of Cardboard Box Play.. It is a blast. And a great alternative to your usual routine. It will work for children a little older as well. Aaliyah loved it so much, I saved the box for our visits to see the Greats.

Leave a Reply

