Yummy Cinnamon Rolls, Pioneer Woman Style

I love cinnamon rolls. It was one of the few things that I craved while I was pregnant with my daughter. Anytime I would go shopping at the mall with my mom, we had to stop at Cinnabon to grab one of their delicious cinnamon rolls. It’s funny, because that is one of the few things that I still love now that I am no longer pregnant. I have been trying out different cinnamon roll recipes the past few months courtesy of all my friends on Pinterest. But I just could not find a recipe that I loved. My sister-in-law turned me onto her favorite recipe and it’s one of the Pioneer Woman’s collection. I had been wanting to try it, but it makes so many. I just couldn’t see making fifty cinnamon rolls for just me and my husband. My sweet tooth isn’t quite that extreme. But I finally had the perfect opportunity to make them with our family gathering on Easter Sunday.  And I couldn’t wait to try them out!

On Saturday, I spent the afternoon making the dough for the cinnamon rolls.  I opted to refrigerate my dough overnight so we could have fresh ones in the morning.  First thing on Sunday morning, I assembled the rolls and baked them for the family.  I am not going to lie, I was a little scared that they weren’t going to turn out that good. I was worried all the way up until my very first test bite of the first batch. I was in heaven! They were so delicious, and I hadn’t even frosted them yet.  The frosting made them perfect though.  I knew right away that I needed to add this recipe to our Garcia Family Cookbook.

I have put together a little tutorial to go along with the recipe.  You can check out the Pioneer Woman‘s recipe and tutorial in her blog post from June of 2007. I altered a few of her steps, but the recipe is basically the same. I recommend trying out this recipe. If you are worried about the leftovers, you can do one of two things: you can halve the recipe to make less or you can make the full recipe and freeze the extras for later.

Happy Baking!

Cinnamon Rolls – Pioneer Woman Style

Ingredients:

  • 1 quart Whole Milk
  • 1 cup Vegetable Oil
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 2 packages Active Dry Yeast, 0.25 Ounce Packets
  • 8 cups (Plus 1 Cup Extra, Separated) All-purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon (heaping) Baking Powder
  • 1 teaspoon (scant) Baking Soda
  • 1 Tablespoon (heaping) Salt
  • Plenty Of Melted Butter
  • 2 cups Sugar
  • Generous Sprinkling Of Cinnamon
  • MAPLE FROSTING:
  • 1 bag Powdered Sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Maple Flavoring
  • ½ cups Milk
  • ¼ cups Melted Butter
  • ¼ cups Brewed Coffee
  • ⅛ teaspoons Salt

Instructions:

-In a medium saucepan, heat your milk, vegetable oil, and sugar over medium heat.  Heat mixture to just below a boil.  Remove from heat and cool to warm.

-Sprinkle yeast on mixture and let it sit for about 1 minute.

-Add 8 cups of flour and stir until just combine.

   

-Cover bowl with a clean kitchen towel and set aside in a warm place to rise for 1 hour.

-When time is up, add baking powder, baking soda, salt, and the remaining 1 cup flour to your dough.  Stir thoroughly to combine.  For an easier assembly, refrigerate dough for 30 minutes.

According to the Pioneer Woman, at this point you may use the dough right away or place it in a mixing bowl and refrigerate it for up to 3 days

-Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F.

-To assemble the rolls, remove half the dough from the bowl.  On a floured surface, roll dough into a large 30 x 10″ rectangle.  Dough should be rolled very thin.

   

-Pour 1/4- cup of the melted butter over the surface of the dough.  Spread the butter evenly across the entire surface.  Sprinkle 1 cup of the sugar evenly over the butter.  Generously sprinkle cinnamon across the sugar layer.  As the Pioneer Woman says, “Don’t be afraid to add extra butter, sugar, or cinnamon.”  It makes them takes better!

-Beginning at the end farthest from you, roll the outer edge tightly towards you.  Pinch the seam together and flip the roll so that the seam is face down.  Using some baker’s twine or a sharp knife, make 1 inch slices.  One log will produce 20 to 25 rolls.  Pour a couple of teaspoons of melted butter into disposable foil cake pans and swirl to coat. Place the sliced rolls in the pans, being careful not to overcrowd.  Repeat the rolling/sugar/butter process with the other half of the dough and more pans.

-Cover all the pans with a kitchen towel and set aside to rise on the counter for at least 20 minutes. Remove the towel and bake for 15 to 18 minutes, until golden brown.  Don’t allow the rolls to become overly brown.

-While the rolls are baking, in a large bowl, whisk together the powdered sugar, milk, butter, coffee, and salt.  Splash in the maple flavoring.  Whisk until very smooth.  Taste and add in more maple, sugar, butter, or other ingredients as needed until the icing reaches the desired taste and consistency. The icing should be thick but still very pourable.

    

-Remove pans from the oven.  Immediately drizzle icing over the top.  Be sure to get it all around the edges and over the top.

   

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

