Mommy’s First Day Out – Dude’s Group

Due to the winter storm hitting the west coast, we were forced to cancel our riding trip this weekend. I’m not going to lie, I was really bummed out. I was really looking forward to getting away. Imagine my surprise, when I realized that my husband wasn’t going into work today. I just assumed that he would go in today since we didn’t leave. I decided to capitalize on this opportunity and do something for the first time since my daughter was born. I left my daughter at home with my husband and I took a personal day. And by personal day, I mean I went to see a movie.

I have been waiting for the Hunger Games to be released for months. During the sleepless nights after my daughter was born, I passed the time by reading books on my Kindle. My husband’s aunt turned me onto the Hunger Games trilogy. And I loved it. I read all three books in three days time. My daughter really wasn’t sleeping at the time. When I found out they had made the first book into a movie, I couldn’t wait to go see it! I planned on seeing the midnight showing the night before it was released. It was kind of my thing…well, my pre-baby thing. March 23 came and of course it was impossible for me to go see the movie. So this morning when I realized George was staying home after canceling our trip, I decided to use it to my advantage. I was going to the movies.

This was the first time I had ever decided to leave Aaliyah at home, so I could have some personal time away. It was not an easy decision, but I needed the time. I was only gone for the length of the movie. It was long enough for me to relax and enjoy myself. I thought I would share something with all you parents and soon to be parents. While I was at the theater, I saw a preview for a movie that I think will probably be hilarious. It’s actually perfect for all of the dads and soon to be dads out there. It’s a new movie called What to Expect When You’re Expecting. It’s a comedy about expectant fathers and a father’s group. I have included the trailer in this post, because it’s good for a cheap laugh. This is a movie that I think I am going to have to take my husband to go see, because I know he can relate.

 

Leave a Reply

