Blackberry Cobbler – It’ll change your life! It changed mine!!!

Fresh baked blackberry pie.  There’s nothing like it!  It’s one of the few things that takes me back to my childhood.  My grandmother always baked them for dessert on Thanksgiving and Christmas every year.  And I looked forward to it always.  Last week I wrote about my Turnbull Family traditions and following in my grandma’s footsteps.  Learning how to make Blackberry pie is one of my favorite things she has taught me.  It is a skill that is linked to so many of my childhood memories.  And I look forward to sharing that tradition with my Baby Girl when she gets older.

But there is just one thing about making homemade pies – it takes a whole lot of work.  And it can be downright messy.  It seems like not such a big deal around the holidays, because we are whipping up so many things.  If you are looking to just make dessert for one evening and very few people, it doesn’t seem worth the all the trouble.  But I am happy to report that I have found a solution to my dilemma.  And I felt that I should share it with all of you, because it is just too delicious to keep to myself.  It is a super simple recipe for the most divine Blackberry Cobbler.  That’s right, we can now have a Blackberries for dessert any night of the week.  Or, if you’re bad like me, breakfast on any morning.  Some people eat breakfast for dinner, but I like dessert for breakfast instead.  Side note – that’s not something I plan to pass on to my children.  It’s a terrible habit I picked up a long time ago.

So here it is, my gift to all of you – an easy 5 ingredient recipe for a Blackberry Cobbler.  Try it.  I promise you will love it.  I recommend using frozen blackberries, that way you can have it anytime.  No paying high prices or waiting for them to be in season.  I promise it will change your life.  It changed mine.  It’s been permanently added to my Garcia Family Cookbook.  Enjoy!

Blackberry Cobbler Recipe

  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 1 stick Butter, melted
  • 1 cup Milk
  • 1 cup Self-rising Flour
  • 2 1/2 cups Blackberries (fresh or frozen)
  • 1/4 cup Sugar (plus some for dusting)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

Grease a 10″ deep pie dish or tart pan.  Set aside.

If using fresh berries, rinse and pat dry.  If using frozen berries, make sure they are thawed and drain excess juice.  Set aside.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine 1 cup of sugar, self-rising flour, and milk with a whisk.  Set aside.

Place your stick of butter in the microwave for 30 seconds until melted.

Add melted butter to your Sugar mixture.  Mix until combined.

Pour batter into your prepared baking dish.

Sprinkle berries evenly over batter.  Try to cover all of the batter with berries.  Don’t leave any bare spots.

Sprinkle berries with a 1/4 cup of sugar.

Bake cobbler for one hour.

Remove from oven and dust the top of your cobbler with 1 Tablespoon of sugar.  Let cool for about 20 minutes before serving.

Cobbler tastes best when served warm and with vanilla ice cream.

Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

