Baby Shower Keepsake Quilt

I might be the only one in the world who dreads going to Baby Showers. Bridal showers too. They’re just so awkward. Especially when you don’t really know anyone at the event. You are forced to sit around and play weird games like guessing what type of candy was melted into a diaper or insulting the mother to be by guessing just how huge her belly has gotten. Women without children are forced to participate in conversations about motherhood, even though they know absolutely nothing about it. All while trying not to cross their legs or say the word Baby It’s awful. Or at least I think so.

So last May, when it came time for my Baby Shower, I was dreading it even more than usual. Not only would I have to endure an entire shower once again, but this time I would be the one on display. Not something I really wanted, especially since I was 25 pounds heavier with cankles and Fred Flinstone feet. Not a pretty site.

My best friend and I had compromised on the games. Only a few noninvasive low key games. Nothing too obnoxious. But as a result, we had trouble deciding how to keep everyone occupied for an extended period of time without boring them all.

That’s when I decided that I wanted some sort of keepsake for my baby girl from my shower. Since I am a sewer, I decided that it would be fun to make a Baby Shower Quilt for my daughter. So my mother, grandmother, and I went to the fabric store to pick out some fabrics that I liked. Then I cut out large squares (10 d 10″) for all of my friends and family to decorate however they might choose. We also bought some permanent fabric markers for them to use. It was so great. They all really got into it and they were all so creative.

My nesting project was assembling my Baby Shower quilt, which was perfect since I hate to clean. I spent the last two months of my trimester sewing my squares together and putting my quilt together. And in the finally weeks when I began my maternity leave and was too uncomfortable to sleep, I sat in my rocking chair doing my quilting. Believe it or not I finished it before I had my daughter. And it turned out better than I had imagined!

I left it hanging In our living room for about a month, so I could admire it. Then George packed it away for when Aaliyah gets older. A great memory and keepsake that we’ll both cherish forever.

So if you are looking for an alternative to the typical baby shower activities, here is something to consider. If you like to sew, try making a Baby Shower Keepsake Quilt. It is something that will last forever.

Leave a Reply

