Party Planning – Aaliyah’s first birthday

When my brother and I were growing up, birthdays were something we looked forward to. My mom was always really great at making us feel special on our very special day. She would be the first person to wish us a happy birthday in the morning, she would make a delicious homemade birthday cake, and she always planned a spectacular birthday party. My birthdays were always special. As a matter of fact, they still are. Just last year, for my thirtieth birthday, she planned a surprise party for me. It was spectacular!

My mom played a pivotal role in my love of birthdays. She has created hundreds of special memories for me, which have inspired me now that I am a mother. In about two months, my baby girl will be turning one. It’s bittersweet, because I can’t wait to celebrate our first year as a family, but it feels like it has gone by so very fast. All you mothers out there know what I mean. Nevertheless, I have been brainstorming all month about possible party themes for Aaliyah’s first birthday party. I want it to be perfect, so I have been weighing my options. And I am pretty sure that I have selected the greatest theme possible! We’re going to have a Not a Box Party.

I’m sure you are all wondering what I am talking about. I really wanted to get creative and keep it simple for Aaliyah. And for the past two months, Aaliyah has been playing in a large cardboard box at my grandparents’ house every weekend. She has a blast playing with it. So I started thinking that it might be something that I could use. There is a book called Not a Box by Antoinette Portis. It basically illustrates how using your imagination, a box can become so many things to play with. So I have begun to collect large boxes, and I will use them to create an imaginary play area in my grandparents’ backyard. I plan to make a train, a rocket ship, a car, a helicopter, a hot air balloon, and so much more. I can’t wait to get started!

Leave a Reply

