Vegetable Lasagna

My grandmother made lasagna from scratch when we were growing up. When I was a kid, I couldn’t really appreciate the significance of that. But now that I am older and I have eaten many frozen lasagnas, I have a greater understanding of the time and effort she put into it. Because we all know that frozen lasagna doesn’t hold a candle a homemade one. I have been in search of a great lasagna recipe for my Garcia Family Cookbook. I have tried several different recipes, but I didn’t fall in love with any of them. Although my sister-in-law turned me onto the Pioneer Woman‘s recipe. It was pretty good, but I prefer ground sausage to ground beef in my Italian food. I think it has more flavor. So since I couldn’t quite find a lasagna recipe that I loved, I decided to create one of my own. And I am in love! So here it is, and you decide. I actually use my spaghetti sauce recipe as the base for my lasagna. Which is perfect, because I can turn one meal into two. And for all of you mothers out there, we all know we love to stretch out our meals as much as possible.

Mama Kerrie’s Lasagna

Ingredients:

FOR SAUCE:

  • 2 lbs Ground Italian Sausage
  • 1 sm. Onion, chopped
  • 4 Garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 (28 oz.) can Diced Tomato
  • 2 (6 oz.) cans Tomato Paste
  • 1 (15 oz.) can Tomato Sauce
  • 2 cups Water
  • 3 teaspoons Dried Basil
  • 2 teaspoons Dried Parsley
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Brown Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Crushed Red Pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon Black Pepper

FOR LASAGNA:

  • 2 1/2 cups Cottage Cheese
  • 2 Eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan Cheese, grated
  • 4 Teaspoons Dried Parsley
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 Mozzarella Cheese, grated
  • 1 pkg. Lasagna Noodles, cooked

For the Sauce: CLICK HERE for spaghetti sauce tutorial

In a large skillet brown Italian sausage, breaking it up into bits as you stir. Add onions and continue to cook until they have become soft. Remove from heat and drain grease from meat. Then set aside.

In a large pot over medium-high heat, add garlic, diced tomatoes, tomato paste, tomato sauce, and water. Mix well. Then add your meat mixture to the pot and bring to a boil.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine basil, 2 teaspoons parsley, brown sugar, salt, red pepper flakes, and black pepper. Mix well. Then add spices to your pot and combine them well.

Once sauce boils, reduce heat to low setting. Simmer sauce on low stirring frequently for 2 hours. Then remove from heat and set aside.

For Lasagna:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

In a small bowl, combine cottage cheese, eggs, Parmesan cheese, 4 teaspoons parsley, and 1 teaspoon salt. Set aside.

Arrange 3 or 4 cooked lasagna noodles across the bottom of a baking pan. Using half of your cottage cheese mixture, spread over the noodles evenly. Sprinkle mozzarella cheese over cottage cheese. Spread a layer of prepared meat sauce on top of cheese layer.

Repeat this process two more times, so you have a total of three layers. Next sprinkle your top meat sauce layer with more mozzarella and Parmesan cheese.

Bake Lasagna for 20 to 30 minutes or until top is bubbly.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

