New Years Project – Monogrammed Wreath

IMG_6615Happy New Year one and all! It’s officially 2013 and the new year brings us endless possibilities. My new beginning – writing a DIY for all of you and I am truly excited! Week two is drawing to a close, and I am still trying to recover from all of my family’s Christmas shenanigans. My guess is you all are too! I like to think that just means we all had a fabulous holiday season. At this rate, if I’m not careful, it will be February before I get my act together.

One of the things I like least about the beginning of the year is taking down all of our Christmas decorations. Not for the obvious reasons either. My husband would tell you that it is just me procrastinating like usual, but really I’m just not ready to come home to an empty house again. I love to go all out at the end of the year cover our house for the holidays. It makes me feel so lively and Joyous. It’s almost infectious. But once the decorations all come down in January, our house looks so vanilla and bland. And it really bums me out. I feel like I don’t have anything to look forward to each day.

IMG_6616 This year I am being proactive, to avoid my typical new year slump. It’s been so cold here lately, so I have needed an excuse to be productive. All I really want to do is stay home and cuddle with my baby girl. Instead of just taking down our Christmas decorations, I’m replacing them with some new ones. Trouble was, I didn’t have any. No sweat – time to get creative. My new favorite material to work with is burlap, so I came up with some fun things using burlap and some soft winter tones. Time to get inspired!

IMG_6620Here’s how I transformed the Garcia House. It was super easy, so take a chance and spruce up your life. I scanned the Internet, and found this great piece of subway art on How to Nest for Less. I printed it and put it in a cute frame and placed it out on our mantle. Then I made some twine wrapped tin cans to use as vases for some pretty cream hydrangeas. To keep a little sparkle in our lives, I made a burlap garland lined with white Christmas lights. Simple, but so beautiful at night when they’re lit up. Finally, I made a monogrammed burlap wreath for our front door. I thought I’d share some of our sparkle with our neighbors. So much better than having a naked front door!

Are you feeling inspired yet? Good, because I have put together a tutorial so you can make a wreath for your own front door. If you’d like to also make my burlap garland or the twine wrapped vases, you can check out my blog Adventures in Motherhood. Now let’s get creative!

Winter Burlap Wreath Tutorial

DSCN0023Materials:
-Wire Wreath Frame
-2 packages of Burlap
-Wooden Letter (your monogram)
-Fake Flowers (any combination/color you’d like)
-Scissors
-Hot Glue Gun

We will begin with one roll of burlap and your wire wreath. Start with the end of your burlap piece and make a 3″ loop. Push the loop through the backside of the inside section of your wreath. The end of the burlap will stick out of the back. Make another loop with your burlap and push it through the backside of the center section of your wire wreath. Then make a third loop and push it through the outside section of your wreath. When you finish, you should have three burlap bubbles popping out of the front of your wreath.

DSCN0026

Weave along the backside of your wreath, pushing the burlap through the wire sections. The pattern should go like this – outside, middle, inside, middle, outside, middle, inside, etc. This is what your wreath should look like when you have finished one section.

DSCN0030

Continue weaving until your roll of burlap runs out. Then continue weaving with your second roll of burlap until you have completely covered your entire wreath.

DSCN0039

Once your wreath is covered with burlap, it’s time to use the hot glue gun. I sporadically add globs of glue in between the bubbles along the front side of the wreath. You don’t have to do it to each bubble. I just like to secure it a little better.

DSCN0039 DSCN0042

Now for the fun part! It’s time to decorate your wreath. Cut the stems off all your flowers so you can place them on your wreath easier. Lay your wreath flat and arrange your flowers and your wooden letter how you’d like them. I like to have my letter on the bottom right side of my wreath.

DSCN0053

When you have everything just how you like them, it’s time to glue them in place. Apply a healthy amount of hot glue to the bottom of your flowers and affix them in place on your wreath. You can always add more glue to the sides if necessary. You will do the same with your letter as well. Hold it down and apply pressure to secure it.

DSCN0049

Now we are finished! And you have a beautiful wreath to hand inside or outside of your home.

IMG_6615

I hung mine on our front door, because I feel like everyone should see it. Plus, it makes me smile every time I come home and see it on my front door. It’s so uplifting!

Check back in a couple of weeks, because I am working on some extra special projects for Valentine’s Day. It’s going to be lots of fun. So stay tuned…

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

