It’s a Spooktacular Time of Year – Pumpkin Topiary Tutorial

It’s a Spooktacular Time of Year – Pumpkin Topiary Tutorial

IMG_3006Happy Wednesday everyone! October is already half over, which means Halloween is only two weeks away. Can you believe it? I certainly can’t. So let the scramble begin! This weekend, we finally decided that Aaliyah is going to be Doc McStuffins for Halloween. Now I just have to figure out how to make her costume….it’s a recipe for a stressful couple of weeks. But she is obsessed with Doc, so I’m going to make it happen. I’m sure you can all relate. The concept of moving heaven and earth to make your children happy is definitely not a new concept.

For those of you who have completed the whole costume dilemma and have moved on to decorating the house for the upcoming Halloween Haunt — I’m jealous. I have struck out on all accounts. Since the move, I have no idea where my husband has hidden away all of my Spooktacular decorations. And I haven’t had a moment to search for them yet. At this rate, I’ll be lucky to get them up the day of! I’m a mess.

IMG_3003I did, however, get the opportunity to complete a Bootastic project for all of you this weekend! I also took advantage of Aaliyah’s short nap time and made a new Halloween wreath for our front door as well. So we’re not completely void of any Halloween spirit. But enough about my shortcomings! Today we’re going to make a pumpkin topiary for your mantle or front porch. So let’s get crafting!

Bootastic Pumpkin Topiary

Materials:

3 faux pumpkins
Black terra cotta pot
Orange Sparkle Paint
Black Paint (with a writing tip)
Exacting Knife
Paint brush
Hot Glue Gun

Instructions:

Begin by cutting a three inch hole in the bottom of two of your pumpkins, using your exacto knife.

IMG_2991

On a papered surface, cover all three pumpkins with your orange sparkle paint. The more sparkly the better! (Make sure to paint the top of one of your pumpkins with a hole in it)

IMG_2993

Once your pumpkins have dried, using a healthy amount of hot glue, attach your three pumpkins together. Stacking them on top of each other. Apply pressure until glue begins to cool and set up.

IMG_2996

Once the glue dries, we’re going to decorate our pumpkins. You can do anything you like – paint faces, designs, or write on them. I chose to write the word BOO. Simple, but festive.

IMG_2997

When the paint dries on your pumpkins, we’re going to use our hot glue guns again. Apply a healthy amount of glue along the inner rim of your pot. Set your pumpkin stack inside of the pot and hold it there for a few minutes.

IMG_3001

Once the glue has dried, you are finished. So pick a spot and display your Bootastic Pumpkin Topiary with pride!

IMG_3003

ENJOY!!!

Leave a Reply

